PDA

View Full Version : restart a model 30



tomgun
09-25-2009, 03:47 PM
I have a model 30, around 12 yrs old. It was working fine and I decided to shut it off (Don't ask why). I would like to restart it now, It has a few inches of standing water in the bottom of the salt tank. There is also a waffle-like piece in the bottom which appears to have a piece broken off. I never restarted one before, any advice? Thanks

Gary Slusser
09-25-2009, 04:20 PM
A model 30 softener? What brand? It sounds like a Kinetico.

tomgun
09-25-2009, 06:35 PM
Yes it is a kinetico.

Gary Slusser
09-26-2009, 07:34 AM
Yes it is a kinetico.
Alrightie then... personally I'd undo, reverse, what I did to turn it off. Other than that, because I don't know what you did to turn it off, I don't know what to tell you other than you should add some salt to the salt tank but I wouldn't add more than a 40 lb bag; and then do a manual regeneration and when that is done, you have to do another one so both tanks are regenerated.