Bathroom Drain Pipe Woe

Users who are viewing this thread

witch_wyzwurd

Reaction score
I removed the toilet in the home I just purchased, because I'm tiling the floor. This is my first time ever replacing a flange and such.

Here's my woe:

The drain pipe is cast iron, and 3 7/8 inch inside diameter. The metal flange that is partly still on it is glued to the outside of the pipe, and I tried prying it off by lifting the flange from underneath the part that rests on the floor, but the ring just busted apart, leaving an inch wide ring of metal hugging the pipe. There are no screw holes in the flange for mounting.

I've tiled up to the flange part still glued to the pipe, but my ceramic tile surface is higher than the half-flange.

My first question: Would a wax-free toilet seal be my best option in this instance? And since my drain pipe is 3 7/8 inch inside diameter, would I use a 4x3 combination? I tried 4-inch, but ribs on seal are too wide to fit into pipe.
I tried a 4/3, and the seal goes in pipe, and pushes in semi-tightly about 1/2-inch from the top of the seal. Is that enough of a hug?

Or...

My second question: Because I can't get remaining part of old flange off of the pipe, should I just try to drill holes through it myself and rest a new flange on top of it... this, I figured would also get the flange above the tile's surface. Are flanges made for 3 7/8-inch drain pipe?

The home was built in 1951, and I'm guessing this is all original piping.

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
Your best course of action is to call a plumber to properly remove the old flange and install a new on that rests on top of the finished floor. Flanges should not be recessed below the floor. Other things will result in a hack job and likely not be satisfactory either in the beginning or in the future.

witch_wyzwurd

Reaction score
Thanks for your response, but I came to a forum to learn how I could do it myself. If I wanted to call a plumber I would've just done so.