PDA

View Full Version : kenmore flooded brine tank HELP!



Kenbow
08-03-2009, 06:32 PM
My brine tank is flooded, checked the kenmore trouble shooting animation and get to a point where it tells me to get a service tech, not really what i want to hear when money is tight, the vent is cleaned went through the testing till it came to drawing water down from the tank in Brine cycle,which it did not. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Ken.

Gary Slusser
08-03-2009, 07:37 PM
Read the thread at this link

http://terrylove.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30535 and the Culligan thread.

Gary Slusser
08-04-2009, 11:33 AM
There is a flow control in the venturi. This flow control gets clogged up and will not allow water through the venturi. Why the manufactor puts them in there I'll never know. I discard them.
Removing a brine or drain flow control is a bad idea. It's there because it is needed. Finding and fixing the cause of it blocking, or simply cleaning it is a better approach.

Kenbow
08-04-2009, 05:15 PM
Thanks, i got it working for now and will order new gaskets to replace the problem ones.

Cruisinfanatic
09-09-2009, 03:24 PM
I disagree. The brine flow control is need for sure, but the venturi flow control is a servce call waiting to happen.

Kenmore service tells you to take it out.