PDA

View Full Version : Wires in electrical box



toolguy504
07-29-2009, 10:10 AM
Is it correct that you do not count the wires from the fixture (in this case a light) when calculating the size box needed. Thanks. Earl

ActionDave
07-29-2009, 10:08 PM
Fixture wires don't count. Devices-switches, recpts- do count.

toolguy504
07-30-2009, 04:33 AM
Thanks ActionDave. That is what I thought. Earl

Thatguy
07-30-2009, 09:20 AM
http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en-us&q=%22box+fill%22+wiki&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

hj
07-31-2009, 05:12 PM
You mean the fixture wires do not take up any space. Anyway, here is the quote. Note the caveat about fixture wires.

You can omit equipment-grounding conductors and up to four 16 AWG and smaller fixture wires from box fill calculations, if they enter the box from a domed luminaire or similar canopy (e.g., a ceiling paddle fan canopy) [314.16(B