New User Hello - Old panel rebuild - photos coming? Some help old timer.

Users who are viewing this thread

Vict1912

Reaction score
Thanks. It's nice to meet you guys and any ladies.

I've got an old 1912 Victorian house. Vandalized about a year ago.
The electric panel was removed down to the backplate. It sat on
the house until 1 hour ago when it was removed to take it to
some old timers to see if it can be rebuilt. 1975 was when it
was installed.

I don't need lots of power like A/C or lighting. I'm happy with
clothesline and low speed drying.

Lest you care. I'm degreed in Electronics and worked around
most electron carrying materials since I was 3. We had rentals
and I was a designer of laboratory instrumentation. I'm 56 next year.

I was just wondering if there's a few residents here who would
look at some photos when I get them. Let's see if we can
determine the brand of what I've got.

Thank you.

I'll be here for you when you post says 0 replies.

Andre in California.

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
You can post the pics but I think you would be far better off just picking up a new panel.....why you would want to go to all the trouble of trying to find parts for an old unit makes me scratch my head...

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
You may have trouble finding the innards for a 35 year old panel. What's more, it may turn out to be Federal Pacific, Zinsco, or Pushmatic.....( dinosaurs which should be summarily sent to extinction)

We realize you have time on your hands, and I share your old-school attitude of "fix rather than replace". I can tell you that we are in a world that does not exist any more. Almost everything is disposable. Parts to fix old things often just don't exist.

Billy_Bob

In the Trades
Reaction score
Go look at the prices of new electric panels. Not very much.

And look at the price difference between a 10 slot panel and a 40 slot panel. Not much.