Shower drain size

Users who are viewing this thread

tlarson

Reaction score
I'm not a pro, but I've never seen a shower pan, tray, or stall that did not have a 2" outlet, and the code you quote says under note d, "Trap size shall be consistent with the fixture outlet size" So, as a practical matter 2" may be the only solution, even though the code says 1-1/2" as a minimum.

FloridaOrange

Plumbing Designer
Reaction score
Interesting, the 2007 Florida Plumbing Code says the same thing. Won't mean that I'll start specifying shower traps as 1-1/2". I was taught that the reason behind 2" vs. 1-1/2" for tubs was that tubs, by design, have somewhere to hold water.

Geniescience

Homeowner
Reaction score
I heard that tubs have more ability to "push" water since they hold a mass.

Which is more "lore".
Where are the facts?

Any shower drain can be made with a 1.5" opening, and anyone can glue a reducer into a 2" opening, so the fixture itself takes a 1.5" drain.

When all is said and done, I find the 2" diameter requirement for showers to be overkill.

!
I'm surprised that after many years of searching, I've never seen an internet comment from an experienced Master Plumber telling me how Code changed over the years.

I'm 100% certain that a 1.5" drain line used to be Code everywhere, for showers. I'd like to know what discussion went into voting for the new size, 2" diameter.

In Canada a 1.5" drain line is still permissible for a shower. Everyone says so, but I've never seen it in writing.

Having said all this, of course, do not decrease any drain line in the direction of flow. The trap size has to be the same as the drain size. Many people conclude that a 2" trap can be reduced to a 1.5." pipe after the trap. Use a 1.5" trap if the drain line is to going to be 1.5" diameter.

I'm not a plumber. Since this is a discussion forum, I'm posting this here as part of a *discussion*; I feel that this forum is the right place for this discussion.