PDA

View Full Version : 3 wayconduit



luckekurte
05-13-2009, 08:00 PM
I need help, I have a 1/2 " underground conduit with 14 2 w ground running 100ft . At 50 ft I wish to take an additional tap to a small load ~1.5 amp. Help with details. thanks:confused:

this electrical conduit runs under a paved parking lot and can not be doug up. However at mid point the concuit does pass unger a flower bed. I have doug dowm to expose the 1/2" conduit, it is at this point were i want to put the wire and add an additional light. Keeping the entire ckt in contuit is a priority.

Speedy Petey
05-14-2009, 06:18 AM
Details on what?

Is this a continuous conduit? If so you'll have to dig it up, cut into it and bring both legs above ground into a box, pull ALL new wiring because not it will be too short.
Sounds to me like a very poorly conceived idea.

You will be much better off leaving what is there and running new.


BTW, what does this have to do with a "3 wayconduit"???

jimbo
05-14-2009, 06:42 AM
.


BTW, what does this have to do with a "3 wayconduit"???

I was thinking he was asking about putting in a TEE.

220/221
05-14-2009, 10:47 AM
You need to install two junction boxes.




parking lot........../............planter area................/..parking lot....



----------------/-------JB-----x------JB--------/-------------



Turn off power. Verify power is off.

Cut conduit/wire at X

Use tubing cutter to cut conduit at JB locations

Install 90's into jboxes and install conduit between jboxes.
Carlon makes excellent flush mounted PVC jboxes. Leave them up a couple of inches to insure they don't get completely buried.

Pull the appropriate wire in new conduit and make connections.

enosez
05-15-2009, 05:07 AM
You need to install two junction boxes.




parking lot........../............planter area................/..parking lot....



----------------/-------JB-----x------JB--------/-------------



Turn off power. Verify power is off.

Cut conduit/wire at X

Use tubing cutter to cut conduit at JB locations

Install 90's into jboxes and install conduit between jboxes.
Carlon makes excellent flush mounted PVC jboxes. Leave them up a couple of inches to insure they don't get completely buried.

Pull the appropriate wire in new conduit and make connections.

For all the work of installing j-boxes wouldnt it be easier to run new like Speedy Petey suggested.

hj
05-15-2009, 06:43 AM
IF you are planning on putting the light where you want to make the connection, then you cut the conduit back, install two sweep ells into a box above the ground. Put your light on top of the box, and then pull new longer wires into the conduits. Your wires will be too short no matter how you plan to make the connection so they will have to be replaced anyway.

220/221
05-15-2009, 10:41 AM
For all the work of installing j-boxes wouldnt it be easier to run new like Speedy Petey suggested.


Hmmm.....You think cutting across a parking lot, trenching 24" deep and patching asphalt will take less than the 2 hours it will take to cut into the existing conduit?:rolleyes:

jnaas2
05-15-2009, 07:52 PM
220 isnt it against code to cut conduit with a tubbing cutter?

Speedy Petey
05-16-2009, 05:59 AM
220 isnt it against code to cut conduit with a tubbing cutter?
Nope......

hj
05-16-2009, 07:50 AM
We don't even know what kind of conduit it is. The two problems with cutting metal thin wall conduit with a tubing cutter is that it is hard on the wheel, and it has to be reamed afterwards. PVC or rigid is another matter all together.

enosez
05-18-2009, 04:59 AM
Hmmm.....You think cutting across a parking lot, trenching 24" deep and patching asphalt will take less than the 2 hours it will take to cut into the existing conduit?:rolleyes:

Depends,
He's still going to have to cut up the area for the j-boxes.

And no one mentioned what size conduit and what wire is in it.
Will he be running a new circuit in the exsisting conduit or tying into whats there.

But yea, I'd probably see whats there before wanting to cut asphalt and trench.

220/221
05-18-2009, 02:33 PM
Depends,
He's still going to have to cut up the area for the j-boxes.


:rolleyes:


at mid point the concuit does pass under a flower bed.

Dig 6' in a planter or 50" back to the source thru a parking lot. Hmmmm. I'll take the 6'.





And no one mentioned what size conduit and what wire is in it.

:rolleyes:


I have a 1/2 " underground conduit with 14 2 w ground running 100ft




Will he be running a new circuit in the exsisting conduit or tying into whats there

:rolleyes:


At 50 ft I wish to take an additional tap to a small load

enosez
05-19-2009, 03:48 AM
I give;)
Should've read before I typed.
Lesson learned!;)