PDA

View Full Version : Issues changing to Florescent Bulbs



noreast
05-04-2009, 09:58 AM
Hello All!

So in an effort to cut down on my exorbitant electric bill, we picked up a bunch of energy saving bulbs to replace our incandescent bulbs.

When swapping them out of a set of 4 high-hats, only two will light while the other two will not. Yet when I have 4 incandescent bulbs they all work.

Does anyone know what might be causing this?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

George

Thatguy
05-04-2009, 10:50 AM
If the voltage to the lamps is 120v 5% or 10% then almost certainly the bulbs are faulty.
Elec. usage of ~9000 kwh/yr is normal while 30,000 is higher than 95% of homes.

220/221
05-04-2009, 04:21 PM
Maybe the base of the CFL is hitting the socket and not screwing in all the way.

SteveW
05-04-2009, 08:05 PM
Are the bulbs on a dimmer circuit?

jimbo
05-05-2009, 06:50 AM
Most fluorescents will not work well, if at all, with a dimmer, photocell, or a lighted toggle switch.

If "high hat" means recessed cans, flourescents will have reduced life due to heat, and the bulb manufacturers recommend that 23 watt and up not be used at all. They should NOT be installed base up.

Scuba_Dave
05-05-2009, 09:17 AM
I only have 4 CFL bulbs that dim
They have to specifically state they will dim
And they do not dim as well as incandescents

I have CFL's on lighted toggle switches in 3 different places & have not had a problem

I also have CFL's installed in 3 overhead fans - single bulb
These are enclosed in a glass fixture
I only have 13w bulbs in these - all that will fit

What do you mean by high hat? Do you have a pic?
I have CFL's installed thru-out the house without a problem
Inside & outside all year long
I also have over 200 in my Christmas display

SteveW
05-06-2009, 04:33 PM
So George - don't keep us in suspenders - did anyone say something helpful in your quest to get your CFLs working?