PDA

View Full Version : Grounding gas line to panel...



deerme
04-16-2009, 10:34 AM
I just moved into a 2 yr old house that has a gas fireplace that's never been used. The gas company won't put in a tank until the gas line is grounded to the electrical box.

I understand I need to get 6 gauge copper wire and attached it to where the gas line connects to the fireplace using a bonding clamp, then run the wire to the panel and attach it to the ground bar. I have some questions about this....

Does the ground wire need to be encased in anything? I'll be putting it through one wall, too.

What do I use to secure the wire along the beam in the basement?

Is there a special way to connect the wire to the ground bar? Do I need to shut off the main breaker prior to connecting to the ground bar? I dont' want to get zapped!

Thanks!

Ian Gills
04-16-2009, 10:57 AM
Is there a special way to connect the wire to the ground bar? Do I need to shut off the main breaker prior to connecting to the ground bar? I dont' want to get zapped!

If you need to ask this question then you should not be doing this job. Call an electrician or read up on home electrics.

deerme
04-16-2009, 10:59 AM
Well that's kind of why I'm here :)

Thanks anyway...

Ian Gills
04-16-2009, 11:02 AM
Sorry, and I do like DIY so I sympathize with why you are asking. But going into the panel was one of the last things I learnt to do with the electrical tinkering in my house. You really are playing with death in there even with the breaker off (parts of the panel will still be live). That's why the gas company wants somebody qualified to do it.

If you are not absolutely proficient in fitting a new receptacle, rewiring part of a circuit, installing a new light fixture or a switch then you should not be jumping straight into electrical panel work. And if you need to ask what you secure wire with, then you clearly are not familiar with these tasks.

The only thing worse would be having a plumber try to do it...:)

hj
04-16-2009, 03:14 PM
quote; The only thing worse would be having a plumber try to do it...

Why? I have wired complete houses and commercial suites.

Ian Gills
04-16-2009, 03:40 PM
Sorry HJ, I did not realise you were a licensed electrician as well as a plumber. :)


http://www.compliancesolution.com/ComplianceSolution/Pictures/electrician%20in%20water.jpg

jnaas2
04-16-2009, 05:11 PM
I hold a Plumbing contractor license from the state of Indiana and a Master Electrician license from the city of Evansville Indiana and NO I wasnt grand fathered in so I see no problem with a plumber doing it if HE OR HER knows what they are doing

Ian Gills
04-16-2009, 06:10 PM
And if that be the case then neither do I Sir.:)

http://blog.wired.com/gadgets/fail-owned-hot-water-fail.jpg

220/221
04-16-2009, 06:33 PM
First, it's a BOND wire, not a ground wire.





Does the ground wire need to be encased in anything? I'll be putting it through one wall, too.


No

What do I use to secure the wire along the beam in the basement?

Staples....straps....anything.


Is there a special way to connect the wire to the ground bar?

Screwdriver???


Do I need to shut off the main breaker prior to connecting to the ground bar?

YES!!

jwelectric
04-17-2009, 03:44 AM
The requirement to bond the gas line is not a NEC requirement but a manufacturer requirement and then only if there is some sort of flexible gas line being used.

If there is a flexible gas line somewhere in the gas piping system then the bonding jumper can land anywhere out lined below;
…shall be bonded to the service equipment enclosure, the grounded conductor at the service, the grounding electrode conductor where of sufficient size, or the one or more grounding electrodes used.

There is no need to open the panel at all.
Install one of these (http://www.drillspot.com/pimages/92/9267_300.jpg) sized for two #6 conductors on the #6 running to the ground rod and the other end to the gas pipe with water pipe clamp (http://www.skywalker.com/images/image/TNB4002.jpg). The water pipe clamp must be on solid pipe.

clcik on the blue underlined words

killavolt
04-17-2009, 04:00 AM
Jwelectric, are you getting any flack from electrical inspectors on the use of split bolt connectors? Here in CT, I've run into quite a few that won't allow their use. They claim the split bolts could fail and make us use bypass connectors.

deerme
04-17-2009, 04:27 AM
The requirement to bond the gas line is not a NEC requirement but a manufacturer requirement and then only if there is some sort of flexible gas line being used.

If there is a flexible gas line somewhere in the gas piping system then the bonding jumper can land anywhere out lined below;
…shall be bonded to the service equipment enclosure, the grounded conductor at the service, the grounding electrode conductor where of sufficient size, or the one or more grounding electrodes used.

There is no need to open the panel at all.
Install one of these (http://www.drillspot.com/pimages/92/9267_300.jpg) sized for two #6 conductors on the #6 running to the ground rod and the other end to the gas pipe with water pipe clamp (http://www.skywalker.com/images/image/TNB4002.jpg). The water pipe clamp must be on solid pipe.

clcik on the blue underlined words

This is VERY helpful information. Thanks!!!

The gas pipe is "Trac Pipe" and you're right, it is the manufacturer that requires the pipe be bonded.

I could call a different gas company and they'd probably come set a tank w/out making me bond the line, but if it's a matter of safety I'd better get it done.

Here's (http://www.hughcunningham.com/newsarticles/GMA%20Rebuttal%20Memo%20-%20final%20version.pdf) what the manufacturer says. Evidently a lightning strike could create pinholes in the line causing a SLOW gas leak. Doesn't sound good!

Thanks again for your help!

jwelectric
04-17-2009, 10:05 AM
Jwelectric, are you getting any flack from electrical inspectors on the use of split bolt connectors? Here in CT, I've run into quite a few that won't allow their use. They claim the split bolts could fail and make us use bypass connectors.

I don’t have problems from electrical inspectors on anything I do simply due to the fact I am very proficient on the NEC.
Unless the electrical inspector can show me in writing where I am wrong I just send him/her on down the road kicking cans and counting poles.
When a split bolt is installed properly they will not come lose without someone or something helping it to happen. In my years of doing electrical work I do not know of the first one coming lose.

220/221
04-18-2009, 04:02 PM
There is no need to open the panel at all.

Assuming of course that he has access to the GEC.

His house is two years old and would probably have a ufer and it will likely be concealed.