PDA

View Full Version : Static interference from flourescent lights.



Giles
03-19-2009, 08:54 PM
I have several florescent light fixtures in my shop. When they are on, I get a lot of static on AM radio stations and sometimes on FM stations.
Why do they cause this and what can be done to correct the problem?

Dunbar Plumbing
03-19-2009, 09:08 PM
I have several florescent light fixtures in my shop. When they are on, I get a lot of static on AM radio stations and sometimes on FM stations.
Why do they cause this and what can be done to correct the problem?


I got this problem too but my guy who does all my sound system stuff told me it's inevitable.


They make suppressors but he said the most of the time they don't work.


Those lights that operate off an electronic eye are the worst.

Cass
03-20-2009, 02:39 AM
Have the receiver far away enough from the lights that there is no noise and run speaker wire to a speaker in the room...

jimbo
03-20-2009, 04:12 AM
cheap fluorescent ballasts....aka "shoplights" will have more interference.

You can try replacing the ballasts, and if they are not already electronic, switch to an electronic ballast.

Every light in my house is now flourescent, and we do not experience any ill effects.

BTW, get rid of any dimmers, electronic light timers, or motion controls. These are more likely to cause interference.

jwelectric
03-20-2009, 06:09 PM
To cure these problems follow these steps

Step 1 Using a 22 ounce framing hammer strike the radio firmly several times

Step 2 After striking radio several times, using a broom sweep up broken parts.

Step 3 Place radio in a container large enough to hold all the shattered parts and set in place

After following these three simple steps there should be no more problem with static noise from the radio.

jadnashua
03-20-2009, 06:50 PM
Flourescent lamp fixtures just plain make a fair amount of noise in the AM band - especially if they have starters. CFL bulbs are usually better. Most motors are also noisey in this band.

Cookie
03-20-2009, 06:53 PM
http://electrosales.com/kb/pdf/kbrf200a.pdf

rgsgww
03-20-2009, 07:31 PM
It could be getting through the power...is the radio powered by cord? If so, is it on the same circuit as the fixtures?

If not, it may be pretty difficult to get rid of the rfi.

With tv antennas, I just make a braid breaker...but thats another frequency.

Billy_Bob
03-21-2009, 08:13 AM
Does the ballast say "For commercial use only"?

This is why they say that...