Need help & advice on big project

Users who are viewing this thread

bassspanker

Reaction score
I'm a newbie to this forum, but you guys seem like a friendly bunch and the advice I've found in existing posts has been very helpful. I'm hoping I can get some advice on a big project I'm starting.

We're doing an addition to our house. We hired out the rough & topout plumbing (all done & passed inspections), but I'd like to try to do the finish work myself. I've done a lot of plumbing work in the past, but it has all been repair & remodel work, so there are a lot of things that are unfamiliar to me in a new construction project.

Depending on how things go here, I may continue this thread with questions about the rest of the project, but for now I'd just like to throw out some questions about my whirlpool installation, since that is the biggest challenge. I would greatly appreciate any comments on the following problems I'm facing:

1) We made a huge mistake right off the bat- We didn't buy our tub until after the architectural design was finished and the plumbing was already roughed in. As a result, we didn't plan for a well placed access panel for the whirlpool tub we wanted. The manufacturer recommends a 1'x2' access at the rear of the tub. Because of the bathroom design, we can't provide access through that wall. The only option is access from the front of the tub. This way you can get to the pump from the side, but it seems like it would be a hassle doing any work under there from that angle. So, how big of a mistake is this? Am I screwed? I'd like to get some feedback before I go any further...