sump pump questions

Users who are viewing this thread

JLease

Reaction score
Evening All!
Very recently found this site and just registered tonight. Just finished doing some repair work in my sister-in-laws basement following a sump pump failure in October. The pump, (1/3 HP) which had been working fine, failed to come on during a rainy spell and the basement took on water at the floor/wall junction. The pump has worked fine since, but it can't be trusted and I need to replace it and maybe add a backup system before the spring thaw. I own and trust Zoeller as a good pump and have a few questions. Is the Zoeller 82 pedestal as good as their submersibles? There are no headroom issues in this installation, and the ability to adjust the float for a longer cycle would be good. Another choice would be an N53 with a separate switch or the BN53. I have no experience with the pedestal design, but keeping the motor out of the water doesn't seem like a bad thing, unless that's their budget line. I'll probably come up with more questions later, but selecting a good primary pump is job one. TIA for any opinions or recommendations!
Jeff

Entropy

Reaction score
As, bit of a side note.

Is a long cycle better than a short cycle.

I have a submersible with a separate float switch. I have set it up with the float at a very short length, which equals short frequent cycles.

What are the pro's and con's to short vs. long cycles and setups?

Anyone know.

-> No disrespect, I'm not trying to highjack this thread.

Entropy

WV Hillbilly

Reaction score
I would imagine that the cycle thing would be the same as a well pump . The more it cycles the quicker it will wear out .

JLease

Reaction score