Standard Modernus

Users who are viewing this thread

Nick2000

Reaction score
Hi all. This is my first post here. The reason I joined this board is it's one of the few places with info on what I'm trying to fix. This is an interesting place. I had no idea what I've been sitting on for the past 12 years was such a valuable and well liked piece among toilet aficionados. I think it's great! I also had no idea that this bowl was from the 1930's. My house was built in the early 1940's, so it must have been surplus or something. It is a great toilet with a really powerful flush and I agree with others here, beautiful too. I spent a while last night searching for info on how to replace the gasket on the end of the pipe that's attached to the bowl. By now you can see I'm not a plumber, but I feel like I could do if if I could get the part and knew what I was up against. The search didn't give me a positive answer so I started this thread. A diagram would be wonderful, but does one exist? The attached picture shows the black gasket that leaks when I flush. I'm not surprised. It looks like the original gasket. I am able to spin the sort of bell shaped thing thats against the gasket with my hand slightly. Is this right? Or should have the nut above it been tightened up against it? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks. Nick

Attachments

• DSCN0121_2.JPG
    DSCN0121_2.JPG
    63.7 KB · Views: 3,642

Redwood

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Please don't confuse me with someone that thinks your toilet is cool, neat, a work of art, or, anything similar.

The part you are seeking to replace is called a spud and the elbow between it and the tank should be replaced as well. It is called a flush el.

Talk to the old guy at the supply house counter and maybe he can set you up.

They are a bear to work on...

There is no one gladder than I that toilets are not made like this anymore.