PDA

View Full Version : Component wiring



Bevo
12-13-2008, 09:55 AM
Getting ready to run wire for entertainment, computer network, satellite or AT&T Uverse TV. Does it make sense for future purposes to use component wiring including Cat 5e, RG6, and fiber optic? Not sure if the fiber optic is overkill. Can the homeruns from each room be run thru the same pvc conduit? The house is a two story 20 year old frame construction. Believe I have found a way to run from the attic to the basement thru closets and pantry. Is it necessary to have pvc with compartmentalized spaces or can the wires be run as a bunch the the pvc pipe?
Thanks in advance for any help and suggestions.

brownizs
12-13-2008, 11:09 AM
A/V can be run through Conduit. Running Fiber is overkill.

Speedy Petey
12-13-2008, 11:11 AM
I see no reason to separate the component runs. I will say I would NOT run a thing until you know what you are using. This is not like AC wiring where you can run a spare 12/3 to the attic for future. Each device will require a specific set of cables.
Remember, not all components have optical digital capacity, and most times coaxial digital is just as good.
Any time you can use HDMI you should, like from cable box to TV and DVD/BlueRay to TV. It incorporates audio and video into one cable, and they are cheap these days.