Wobbly leaky Toto toilet tank

Users who are viewing this thread

Kishag

Reaction score
After doing extensive research on this site, I had two Toto 2-piece Drake toilets installed to replace two one-piece toilets of unknown origin that clogged multiple times per week. The flush is wonderful BUT...The toilet tanks on both are leaking, and one is leaking from the base of the toilet as well. The toilet tanks are also wobbly, and the back of it measures 1-9/16" from the wall. My plumber says the rough-in is too big for the toilet. I'm no expert, but I measured from the drywall to the bolt on the base and came up with 12", and the Drake is supposed to have a 12" rough-in. So at this point I'm frustrated and confused. Does anyone have any advice for where to go from here?

RioHyde

Plumber
Reaction score
First, 1-9/16" from the tank to the wall is fine. No idea why someone would tell you otherwise. Second, sounds to me like the tank either wasnt tightened enough, the tank to bowl gasket was improperly installed, or there's some debris between the gasket and the bowl. I've installed numerous Drakes without incident so I'm inclined to think its improper installation. Some tank wobble can be expected, but not to the point of leaking. Third, check to be absolutely sure the toilet is leaking at the base. Sometimes water leaking from the tank will run down the back of the bowl and can appear to be a leak at the base. Also check the supply tube to be sure its not the culprit. If in fact the toilet actually is leaking at the base it will need to be pulled and reset.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Tanks should move very little.

drake_angle2.jpg

Pull the rubber gasket onto the tank outlet.
Set the tank evenly over the bowl.
Use one hand to push the tank down, and the other to tighten.
The tank should touch the bowl.
It may move, but not much.

We install hundreds every year.

Instructions for installing

Last edited: