PDA

View Full Version : Branch Circuit Partial Run in Conduit



sjsmithjr
10-13-2008, 05:59 AM
For the life of me I can't fish the runs (NM) from a laundry room addition the last couple of feet back to the service panel. The service panel is mounted on an exterior wall. Is there a code compliant way come in the side of the box the last couple of feet via conduit? As I understand it 2x12-2 and 1x10-4 NM would violate the conduit fill rule. Is it permissible to strip the jacket once the NM enters the conduit?

Thanks.

hj
10-13-2008, 07:01 AM
Use larger conduit.

sjsmithjr
10-13-2008, 07:18 AM
I'm guilty of not provided sufficient information again. I believe 2x12-2 and 1x10-4 NM would overfill 2-inch conduit, and 2-inch is the largest I can run.

jwelectric
10-13-2008, 10:19 AM
Can't run NM on the outside no matter what kind or size pipe you install

sjsmithjr
10-13-2008, 11:00 AM
Can't run NM on the outside no matter what kind or size pipe you install

Understood. I take it then the right way is to run NM to a junction box, then THHN from the box in conduit to the service panel?

Bummer of a week for the electrician in the family to be out of pocket...


Thanks,

Johnny C
10-19-2008, 09:20 PM
Use type NM cable for the interior wiring to a "J box" and run conduit on the outside of the building with THWN or XHHW. The conductors must be suitable for a wet location.