PDA

View Full Version : Electrical Outlet For Welding



willplunk
08-13-2008, 07:45 PM
I have a Chicago Electric ( China) welding machine. It's a Dual Mig 131, Rated AC input 120 volts, 1 phase, 60 hertz, 21 amp. The electrical cord has a regular plug with 14AWGx3c wire. Can I install a 30 amp breaker in the main panel, and come off to a 30 amp receptecal. Then use a 50' extension cord to work outside. Would 12/3 wire be OK for the cord or would I need 10/3. Would this work OK? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Will

Chris75
08-13-2008, 08:00 PM
I have a Chicago Electric ( China) welding machine. It's a Dual Mig 131, Rated AC input 120 volts, 1 phase, 60 hertz, 21 amp. The electrical cord has a regular plug with 14AWGx3c wire. Can I install a 30 amp breaker in the main panel, and come off to a 30 amp receptecal. Then use a 50' extension cord to work outside. Would 12/3 wire be OK for the cord or would I need 10/3. Would this work OK? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Will



is the cord on the welder a factory cord? if so, thats the voltage and amperage you have to use.

willplunk
08-13-2008, 08:33 PM
Yes, the 14AWGx3c stamped on the welding cord is the factory cord, The welder is new and has never been used. The 21 amp input confuses me as 14/3 is not rated for that much, right. The wall sockets are 15 amp, so I couldn't use them. Any suggestions and thanks Chris75 for the reply. Will

Bob NH
08-13-2008, 09:26 PM
The specs on most of the homeowner style welders show a fairly low duty cycle. Try the welder on a 15 Amp circuit and see if the breaker holds.

You may want to get a 20 Amp circuit to minimize voltage drop.

Alectrician
08-13-2008, 10:00 PM
The #10 wire cord will work much better than the #12.

I have a 120V lincoln wire welder and it needs all the juice it can get. I can see a difference in performance when I use a long #12 cord vs no cord. It still works and doesn't kick the breaker but it's not as "hot" and doesn't penetrate properly.

20 amp breaker will hold but use #10 conductors and cord.

Southern Man
08-14-2008, 05:19 AM
.....The 21 amp input confuses me as 14/3 is not rated for that much, right. ... "They" probably rate a portable appliance pigtail quite a bit higher than electrical cable permanently installed in long runs within wood framing.

willplunk
08-14-2008, 08:19 AM
Thanks Guys for taking the time to comment.