Most trouble free fixtures?

Users who are viewing this thread

mperk

architect/specifier
Reaction score
I'm relatively new to property management but have years of experience with construction thru architecture.

What is the concensus about trouble free, high quality fixtures (faucets, shower valves, etc.) for long term executive rentals?

I've tried Kohler and Delta and had lots of call backs. I've heard Dornbracht is the best but pricey.

Also toilets - TOTO the best for few call backs? Same experience with Kohler & American standard - had to replace the guts in 5 years or less.

Thanks!

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
There has been a lot of questions here on faucet reliability, it's kind of up and down. Not a real clear Knock out winner.
Most of the plumbers are preferring something with a familiar branded name that will send out parts as needed.
Faucet Poll

Toilets tend to need parts in the five year range. Manufacturers don't make their own internals for the most part. Many of the components inside the tanks are shared.
Kohler and American Standard use Fluidmaster, Toto uses Korky.
Both are found as after market replacements in hardware stores.
The quality of the porcelain is very good on the Toto.

Redwood

Master Plumber
Reaction score
As far as your toilets needing new guts in 5 years...
Well thats about all you can get out of any unit!
The rubber is deteriorated by chemicals used in water treatment.
I have been installing Toto toilets as my brand of choice for about 5 years now and I'm enjoying a 0% callback rate on them.

Dornbracht isn't going to save you on callbacks on faucets but it will give you a pucker factor on parts availability and price!

Take a look at the new Delta R-10000 universal valve and its associated trim packages. It is a very good valve that has taken care of many of Delta's shortcomings like the 3 tubes going out to the difficult to remove nut that has bitten many a handyman...