PDA

View Full Version : breaker size for 12 gauge wire



whoazone
07-15-2008, 12:55 PM
What is the largest breaker I should use on 12 gauge wire? How about 14 guage wire?

jbfan74
07-15-2008, 01:07 PM
What is the largest breaker I should use on 12 gauge wire? How about 14 guage wire?

#12=20 amp breaker
#14=15 amp breaker

whoazone
07-15-2008, 01:09 PM
Can 10 gauge wire handle a 30 amp breaker?

Speedy Petey
07-15-2008, 01:25 PM
Can 10 gauge wire handle a 30 amp breaker?Basically, yes.

Mike Swearingen
07-16-2008, 04:58 AM
30 amp breaker with 10g wire is usually what is used for an electric water heater.
Mike

hj
07-16-2008, 07:13 AM
Are you asking for a specific appliation, or just fishing for information?

pudge565
07-17-2008, 12:55 PM
If using ROMEX® those answers are correct but if its not ROMEX® it depends on the wire insulation type and if it needs to be derated.

Chris75
07-17-2008, 01:35 PM
If using ROMEX® those answers are correct but if its not ROMEX® it depends on the wire insulation type and if it needs to be derated.



What are you talking about? Try reading 240.4(D)

pudge565
07-27-2008, 07:50 PM
Yes my bad I don't know what I was thinking maybe flexible cords?

Johnny C
10-20-2008, 05:02 PM
You have not specified what type load and what type overcurrent protection is provided ie. (circuit breaker or fuse) the #12 conductor is supplying. If the circuit is supplying a motor load, the NEC allows a CB or Fuse rated greater than the conductor ampacity.