Rough-in Layout

Users who are viewing this thread

Cgbuffalo

Reaction score
I am new to the world of major plumbing, so please be gentle. I've looked all through this site and others to find a set up similar to that in my basement, but have had no luck. Can anyone help me out with labeling the pipes that I can see? My initial assessment was that there is a toilet drain (black cover), sewer trap (left, level with slab), and a shower drain (on right). Is the 2" pipe (located only 4" behind the black cover) a sink drain or a toilet vent?? I'd rather not combine the toilet tank and the sink (my friends might not think that's too sanitary). Am I going to have to move the 2" pipe, or can it be angled into the wall somehow? Thanks for any help in advance!

Attachments

• basement.jpg
    basement.jpg
    20.3 KB · Views: 512

Mikey

Aspiring Old Fart, EE, computer & networking geek
Reaction score
I'm going to guess that the thing on the left is a cleanout. You might be able to take out the plug and peek inside to see where things go. The 3" pipe on the right is a mystery -- why 3"? Aren't the as-built plans on file at your local building office? If not, it might be time to call a pro, maybe with a camera.

Fidodie

Reaction score
pull the cap off the one to the right - if there is no trap, it may be set up for the toilet (although attaching a flange will be a fun job), the 2" sticking up is the sink/vent, the one flush with the floor is a check valve/clean out, and the black one is a clean out. I don't think there were plans for a shower.
the check valve and clean out would be concealed (not covered, just concealed) by a vanity.

if there is a trap on the right, then it was meant for a shower, and i'm way off.

Is the floor poured up to the pipe without anything to provide some movement? (bad)

By the way, this is a guess - if it was done with inspections, there should be a plan on file with the city, and a letter that specifies it was only roughed-in.