PDA

View Full Version : Dual sensor Dual head motion light?



sandyman720
09-26-2007, 08:04 AM
Are motion lights made that have 2 lamps and 2 separate motion sensors?

jwelectric
09-26-2007, 08:12 AM
Are motion lights made that have 2 lamps and 2 separate motion sensors?


I have installed a dozen motion sensors on just one head so I would think that you can arrange them in the fashion your mind can imagine.

sandyman720
09-26-2007, 08:16 AM
I want 2 lamps and 2 sensors on 1 mounting. That way I can put it on the eve overhang and aim 1 down 1 wall and the other down the other wall.

Do they make them like this?

jwelectric
09-26-2007, 08:19 AM
I want 2 lamps and 2 sensors on 1 mounting. That way I can put it on the eve overhang and aim 1 down 1 wall and the other down the other wall.

Do they make them like this?

Yes

If you have two sensors in the same spot they will over ride each other.

EDIT for spelling
thought that you spelled 2 as tow

jadnashua
09-26-2007, 08:20 AM
I've not seen one like that...doesn't mean they don't exist. Simple answer, install two separate units.

jwelectric
09-26-2007, 08:26 AM
I've not seen one like that...doesn't mean they don't exist. Simple answer, install two separate units.

The problem with two sensors and two heads at the same location is they will interfere with each other. Either both lights will come on at the same time or one light will tell the other sensor that it is daytime and it will not work.

I have installed sensors all around a building so that any movement will turn on all the lights through a contactor.

frenchie
09-26-2007, 08:33 AM
Couldn't you just wire one sensor to one light, the other sensor to the other light? No seeing why there'd be interference in that case...

Of course, I'm not sure they make a 4-hole lampholder cover, which you would need for that setup.

jwelectric
09-26-2007, 08:39 AM
Couldn't you just wire one sensor to one light, the other sensor to the other light? No seeing why there'd be interference in that case...

Of course, I'm not sure they make a 4-hole lampholder cover, which you would need for that setup.


Yes and I have done just this.

The problems I have found is that one sensor comes on and tell the other sensor that it is day time so it doesn't work.
Then if something is in the motion range of both sensors then both lights come on which defeats the purpose of two sensors.

The best outcome would be one sensor and two lights.

sindikeesan
12-27-2012, 12:15 PM
How do we wire two (outdoor) remote sensors and one 2-way (or two 3-way) light switches to control one light fixture?

What readily accessible brand/model would work best for this?

We want the porch light to come on when someone exits the house onto the porch, or approaches the porch from outside, with manual override. The porch light will be placed so as to shine on the steps and front walk.