To bond or not to bond neutral

Users who are viewing this thread

Washer Woman

Reaction score
Here we go. I am not a professional. I am building a house with my husband.
I wired a meter/disconnect combo panel to the main panel inside the house so an inspector could come give the go ahead to the power co. to install their meter and hook us up. The inspector has said everything is good and give us a sticker.

My question involves the main(inside) panel neutral and ground busses. In my reading and talking with people I wired the inside panel as a sub-panel. I bonded (screwed) the grounding bar to the panel but left the neutral bar unbonded. However, when the inspector showed up he put the green grounding screw thru the neutral bar and into the panel. Should I pull the green screw and return it to a floating neutral or leave it as bonded.

If it matters, 4/0 SER is run between panels, they are not back-to back which is why we had to go with the disconnect.

Chris75

Electrician
Reaction score
Washer Woman said:
I wired a meter/disconnect combo panel to the main panel inside the house so an inspector could come give the go ahead to the power co. to install their meter and hook us up. The inspector has said everything is good and give us a sticker.

My question involves the main(inside) panel neutral and ground busses. In my reading and talking with people I wired the inside panel as a sub-panel. I bonded (screwed) the grounding bar to the panel but left the neutral bar unbonded. However, when the inspector showed up he put the green grounding screw thru the neutral bar and into the panel. Should I pull the green screw and return it to a floating neutral or leave it as bonded.

If it matters, 4/0 SER is run between panels, they are not back-to back which is why we had to go with the disconnect.