PDA

View Full Version : grounding question



cab
09-16-2007, 07:29 PM
I have my main panel grounded through two ground rods buried underground outside my house. When I put in my submersible well pump the other day, I had a lug welded onto the outside of the well casing (steel, 100 feet into bedrock)below ground and ran a ground wire from the well casing into the house. As I understand it, the well casing is a better ground than the two rods I currently have. I am wondering if it would be a good idea to disconnect the present ground wire and change over to the one coming from the well casing. Or, would it be ok to connect both at the ground connection at the panel?

jwelectric
09-16-2007, 08:23 PM
Should you install a grounding electrode conductor for 100 feet underground to the metal well casing the 100 feet of conductor, assuming that you would use a bare #6, would be a better grounding electrode that the well casing and rods together.

Land the equipment grounding conductor that is ran with the circuit feeding the pump, again assuming that you have a submersible pump, and this will do about as much as a #6 in the same place.
.

cab
09-17-2007, 02:35 PM
Let me repeat my question with more detail...

Currently, there are two ground rods in the ground outside my home which are connected to my service panel and function as the ground for my home electrical system.

I have a 180 foot well with 100 feet of steel casing. There is a submersible pump installed. At the top of the casing, about 3 foot underground, I had a lug welded to the casing. I ran a #6 bare copper wire from this lug on the steel well casing underground to the house. I have three options and would like to know which will provide the best grounding system:

1) forget the ground connected to the well casing and use the current system of two ground rods.

2) wire the ground from the well casing into the main panel along with the ground from the two ground rods.

3) wire the ground from the well casing into the main panel. Disconnect the current ground wire from the two ground rods....

Which is best?

Thanks...

Furd
09-17-2007, 02:58 PM
Option number 2.

Chris75
09-17-2007, 03:21 PM
I would pick # 2 as well, but I really would not have wasted my money on doing what you did, 2nd thing is, your required to bond the well casing to the well pump circuit equipment grounding conductor...

jwelectric
09-17-2007, 06:25 PM
1) forget the ground connected to the well casing and use the current system of two ground rods. Now that you have the #6 at the house use it. As far as the rods they MUST be used


2) wire the ground from the well casing into the main panel along with the ground from the two ground rods. This is the proper way to make this installation


3) wire the ground from the well casing into the main panel. Disconnect the current ground wire from the two ground rods.... All grounding electrodes that are present MUST be used and this will include the rods


Which is best?

Thanks... I guess that #2 is the ONLY opinion you have at this point

BrianJohn
09-17-2007, 07:04 PM
More is always better in this case..................Can't hurt to have as much in the ground.