Exhaust Fan Replacement Timer

Users who are viewing this thread

Shrapnel

Reaction score
Hi, I'm replacing a conventional switch in the bathroom which controlled the exhaust fan. I am placing a timer instead. Upon opening the switch box, I noticed that I only have 1 - black, 1 - white, 1 - bare ground. Therefore, I assume the source is at the fixture.

Exhaust fan is 13 Amps, therefore I figured I needed a 20A Timer (requires white neutral connection). Now, my question is, if the source is at the fixture (fan), would it be safe to use a 5A Timer (which doesnt require a white neutral connection)? If not, how do I connect the timer without access to the extra wire.

Hope this makes sense, I am new at this.

Thanks,

Chris75

Electrician
Reaction score
Is this a residential exhust fan? Also if this fan actually draws 13 amps, this will definitely be a problem with a 5 amp switch....

Last edited:

JWelectric

Electrical Contractor/Instructor
Reaction score
Chris75 said:
Is this a residential exhaust fan?

I see the sheet rock pulling off the walls and the commode lid standing straight up every time the fan is turned on.

Leejosepho

DIY scratch-pad engineer
Reaction score
Website
www.nonameyet.org
Shrapnel said:
Hi, I'm replacing a conventional switch in the bathroom which controlled the exhaust fan. I am placing a timer instead. Upon opening the switch box, I noticed that I only have 1 - black, 1 - white, 1 - bare ground. Therefore, I assume the source is at the fixture.

If those black and white wires were/are connected to the switch, I would guess the black is hot and that the white carries power from the switch to the fan motor already connected to a common (white) on the other side of its windings.

Shrapnel said:
Exhaust fan is 13 Amps ...

As others have already suggested, that is very unlikely ... and here is a nice timer to consider once you get the amperage issue sorted out:

http://www.wattstopper.com/products/details.html?id=105

hj

Master Plumber