PDA

View Full Version : Rewiring 2nd floor



Jed54
07-22-2007, 12:42 PM
A relative is refurbing the 2nd floor to his home. The wiring presently is knob & tube. He would like to upgrade the wiring while the walls our removed, but he questioning how to get the new wiring from the basement, 1st floor, then to the 2nd floor. Going thru interior walls is about the only way to do this. But coming upon obstruction is another issue...... Thanks

jwelectric
07-22-2007, 01:59 PM
Install a chase in a downstairs closet

Jed54
07-22-2007, 02:10 PM
This would an exposed cable running along closet wall to 2nd floor?

jadnashua
07-22-2007, 02:16 PM
Is there a place in the house where there are two closets directly above each other? Or, is there an area where there are plumbing lines or air ducts that go from floor to floor?

jimbo
07-22-2007, 04:13 PM
Not an exposed cable.

I would say the general idea might be to get one properly sized cable going up to a subpanel on the second floor, and treat the second floor as an all new unit, which is what you are doing. The single feed would have to be in conduit, or some sort of boxed in chase, in an inconspicuous place like the corner of a closet.

jadnashua
07-22-2007, 06:13 PM
Or, if you took the wall off of the back of that closet, you could run all of your leads up from the basement through there, and maybe up to the attic, then down to where you want them. Just depends...

brownizs
07-22-2007, 07:18 PM
The relative does know that they will have to have the job inspected. That is because it is a rewire from existing Knob & Tube to upgraded work.

Jed54
08-10-2007, 06:49 PM
This same home has a 200 amp main service panel with No Main Breaker.. I would assume its wired to main lug. Since no main breaker is present does the power have to be disconnected at meter to add a main?

Bob NH
08-10-2007, 09:01 PM
This same home has a 200 amp main service panel with No Main Breaker.. I would assume its wired to main lug. Since no main breaker is present does the power have to be disconnected at meter to add a main?

It is customary but not required to have a single Main Circuit Breaker.

230.70 Requires a means to disconnect all conductors in a building from the service-entrance conductors.

230.71 Requires that there be not more than six switches or circuit breakers, grouped together, to meet the requirement of 230.70.

It would be permissible put not more than six two-pole breakers in the Main Lug panel to serve sub-panels at various points in the house.

It would be better to install a single main breaker to disconnect all of the service conductors.

It is sometimes possible to convert the Main Lug configuration to a Main Breaker panel.

See 230.90 Exception 3 regarding the capacity of the 2 to 6 circuit breakers providing protection to the Service conductors.

frenchie
08-10-2007, 09:04 PM
From the context, I assume you meant, "to add a sub-panel"?

No. The sub-panel feeds off a breaker in the main panel.



Or did you mean, to add a main breaker?

Yes, it'd have to be shut off at the meter.

Jed54
08-11-2007, 07:14 AM
No... I understand no breaker is needed at subpanel as long as their is a breaker located at the main feeding the subpanel. The main panel itself has no main...... Actually, I cannot understand with all the codes that have been created thru time..( which some do not make any sense ) why it's not necessary to have a main breaker... You would think this would be mandatory in case of an emergency.....

Bob NH
08-11-2007, 10:40 AM
No... I understand no breaker is needed at subpanel as long as their is a breaker located at the main feeding the subpanel. The main panel itself has no main...... Actually, I cannot understand with all the codes that have been created thru time..( which some do not make any sense ) why it's not necessary to have a main breaker... You would think this would be mandatory in case of an emergency.....

There is a requirement for a means to disconnect all conductors in a building from the service-entrance conductors.

Go back and carefully read my earlier post with particular attention to the citations of 230.70 and 230.71 from the 2005 NEC.

Jed54
08-11-2007, 01:12 PM
I checked for the NEC code manual today.. I was surprised to see they were 120.00....... can it be obtained for a lower $ price then this?

Bob NH
08-11-2007, 05:27 PM
I checked for the NEC code manual today.. I was surprised to see they were 120.00....... can it be obtained for a lower $ price then this?

The 2005 code is less than $50 on the auction site, including shipping.

The 2008 code is $75 to non-members.
http://www.nfpa.org/catalog/search.asp?action=search&query=nfpa+70+2008

The handbook is $130 for non-members.