Water Tank Theory ?

Users who are viewing this thread

Statjunk

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
Can someone explain to me why the water tank installation calles for a galvanized nipple to be used to enter the tank? Why can't I just use copper up to the union?

Every galvanized nipple I've ever removed was corroded!

Thanks

Tom

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
I'm no pro, but I think the recommended nipples are what they call "dielectric". My spelling of that may be off, but they are not galvanized steel. That's what I have used in tanks that I have installed, in fact, they have been included with the tank. From them I go to a flexible copper pipes and a ball valve that is connected to the water supply or hot water outlet pipe. You very well may get some different answers, but this has worked for me. I avoid galvanized pipe like the plague!

Shacko

Master Plumber-Gas Fitter
Reaction score
statjunk said:
Can someone explain to me why the water tank installation calles for a galvanized nipple to be used to enter the tank? Why can't I just use copper up to the union?

Every galvanized nipple I've ever removed was corroded!

Thanks

Tom

I know this will be a PITA, but call the manufactor and they will tell why they want galve., sorry.

"If all else fails, read the directions"

Statjunk

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
Sorry not galvanized. Why do they call for "dielectric" nipples?

Tom

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Dissimilar metals can create a crude battery in a water system. This can cause the metal ions to migrate and quickly weaken or disolve one of the 'less noble' metals. The idea is to basically isolate the two metals with an insulator and prevent that. How quickly, or if at all, this happens depends a lot on the content of your water; its pH, and dissolved minerals, and the metals involved.

Now, do they work? Sort of...depends on the quality, and how they are installed, and as mentioned, the water.