Kenetico Water Softener claim question.

Users who are viewing this thread

ThorAsgard

Reaction score
I have posted this exact message on the Able2Know forum. No need to reply if replied there.

Someone once said "There are no stupid questions...only stupid people" and I am one of them. I have been trying over the past couple of weeks to educate myself on water softeners. I have been leaning towards a Fleck, Clack or Autotrol type system, but had a Kinetico rep out today to give them a fair shot also. Not that I desire to spend 2500 on unit, but I want to be as informed as possible. I am not good at repeating what other people have said, so please do not take this as an exact quote from the rep. I may be misstating things. On to the issue...

The rep claimed that ANY electronic system is not as efficient because they regenerate before the resin tank has not reached full capacity yet. This seems to me to be more a function of the twin tank design than the electronics. The claim also seemed to go something like this...Because the of the reserve capacity design of (single tank/electronic) systems they will regenerate before reaching capacity and since when they regenerate they use the same salt dose regardless of capacity used, salt is left in the tank or that the resin is over cleaned. The result being salty/slimy water for a while after regeneration and a decrease in effectiveness of the resin. After time this somehow lessens the ability of the system to soften the water.

This seems to go against other things I have read. I believe once the resin is cleaned everything is just rinsed out. Is it possible to "over clean" the resin? Now of course if the system backwashes with hard water some the resin will not be at full capacity, but is this really an issue when a tank has be ability to clean 2000 gal of water between regenerations.
BTW( 15 gpg, city water, 4 person household, 2.5 bath, I have estimated a 48k grain single tank unit would be a sufficient size.)