PEX Pictures

Users who are viewing this thread

Seaneys

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a DIYer (why should the plumbers have all of the fun). I'm using PEX for a large portion of my project.

Are there any good books or pictures of PEX configurations? I really like using PEX, but it just seems to be a bit 'messy'. The only feedback I have from the inspector is that he really find PEX to be a little disorganized and chaotic. I'd like it to be as 'clean' as possible.

Thanks,
Steve

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
Grumpy, what PEX do you use? The annealed copper rings will never let go.....well maybe 100 years or so.

Do you like my never word.

Last edited:

OldPete

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
GrumpyPlumber said:
I'm a plumber (why should I offer free info?)
Strong chance that most advice you'll get is from other DIY'ers.
BUT...hint....look online for manufacterers (Zurn, Wirsbo).
I'll use PEX for baseboard heating, where the fittings are exposed in plain sight.
Personally, I wouldn't recommend using PEX inside walls or ceilings...years ago there was a "new" product (pb) that worked very well for a few years, until it started seeping inside structures..the crimp rings didn't hold up.
However, if this is plumbing for your kids tree-house...have at it!
If the "garden hose" thingy doesn't work out...you can always call a plumber.
We enjoy having all that "fun".

I didn't know this was a Plumbers-only forum. I guess DIYers shouldn't ask advice here then? :mad:

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
Grumpy,
I just got off the phone with the shark bite tech people and shark bites are good to 200 F. So if your concerned and the temps will go over 200 use them at your own risk. They can be taken on and off as many times as needed but I was told to check the O ring for damage. If it is damaged it will leak.

This is a DIY forum and you don't have to give any advice if it bothers you.

Last edited:

OldPete

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score