shower head leaks water while filling tub

Users who are viewing this thread

Brian12

Reaction score
I just intalled an American Standard Tub Filler faucet with optional shower head. The shower head itself does not have a shutoff on it. While filling the tub (diverter down), some water is leaking out of the shower head. the problem is that with the weak stream of water, it is landing on the rim of the tub and then falling onto the tub deck. When I pull the diverter up, everything appears to be working fine with the shower head and faucet.

Is this normal. I removed all parts prior to doing any soldering so I know I did not damage any O ring or anything like that.

Also, the installation page for the shower head stated, "check local codes, make require vacuum breaker (kit #028708)" I have no idea what this is, or what this is for, but wondering if this might be the cause of the problem.

I would greatly appreciate any advice as I am a average do-it-yourselfer and expert at nothing.

Last edited by a moderator:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
A vacuum breaker is required if you are using a handheld shower that could be laying in the tub, covered with the water. If there was a pressure hiccup, without the vacuum breaker, it is possible to suck in that bathwater and contaminate your water pipes. If you have a conventional, fixed showerhead, it is not required.

Some rough-in valves, while it looks like there is a tap for the tub spout and the shower, the instructions say do not use the lower outlet. If the pipe is restricted at all, it can divert some of the water up to the showerhead. Review the installation instrutions and make sure you used the correct taps for shower and tub, used the proper sized piping, and don't have restrictions. You could end up with restrictions if you weren't careful with the teflon tape, and are blocking off the flow some and creating this type of problem.

Brian12

Reaction score
Thanks for the advice Jim