Current thoughts on Plumbers Putty vs Silicon Caulk

Users who are viewing this thread

racine

Reaction score
I'm sorry to have to bring this up again but I've already done a search and read all the discussions. Problem is I'm new in this small town, the plumber who put in my plumbing (5 faucets/ sinks, showers, etc...) lost his wife to Cancer halfway through his job on my house. Since then all faucets, sinks have leaked partially damaging cabinets. He didn't even use teflon tape on the shower heads and all 3 leaked.

I disassembled my kitchen sink today and the putty disintegrated. I'm wanting to install this myself as the last 2 plumbers I called didn't even return my calls? Now I'm leaning towards using silicon caulk for the kitchen sink and wondered what your thoughts were and what brand and type you've recommend. I know I'll have to let it dry for 2 days or so but please share some of your quick thoughts- I'd be very grateful and thank you in advance.
Hanging out in Lower Mississippi,
Racine

PS. Should I use the rubber washer on top instead of on the bottom or get another one for both top and bottom?

sink-basket-with-silicone.jpg

Norcal1

Plumber/Owner
Reaction score
I never use silicon on basket strainers, I only use plumber's putty...never had a problem with leaking.

No, don't use a rubber gasket under the basket strainer, that goes under the sink.

Also, I don't use teflon tape on showerhead installs. They have rubber washers that are supposed to create a seal with the shower arm.

sink-basket-with-putty.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Racer814

Reaction score
I use putty...some people view it as an archaic method and silicone as the modern way but it works as well as silicone does and I like the ease of disassembly.....those basket strainers won't leak either way if done correctly but you will thank yourself down the road for using putty when you decide to change them out ....

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
leaks