Bathtub Issues

Users who are viewing this thread

buyos1717

Reaction score
This is my first time posting but ive been looking through the forums and got a lot of great information!

I just ripped out the one piece fiberglass tub/shower in my bathroom and am eager to put in my new kohler cast iron tub then have tiled walls but came across several problems.

1) This is on the second floor and the floor is 3/4" plywood and underneath is what i believe to be crawlspace. How would i support the bathtub? Originally i thought i would simply nail some 2X4's to the studs of the wall to help support the tub when it is set in. However, after bringing the tub home i found that the bathtub flanges are not flush underneath. The drain side doesnt have a lip and was made so underneath there is a protrusion that is slightly parabolic which would make measuring where to mount the 2x4 to the stud difficult. The back has almost the same thing but has a 1/4" lip before that curvature. The side towards the wall has a lip so i can support that side very easily. How should i go about making support for this tub?

2) As stated, the floor is basically 3/4" plywood and would the tub be fine just resting on top of that with its legs? Do i have to keep it from moving somehow? it doesnt seem like it would move because we have a tough time trying to move it :p

3) The tub has a very small flange and i was under the impression that the backerboard is supposed to go over and on top of the tub. The flanges are very small and on the side the tub touches the wall, if i attempt to put backerboard over it and tile it then the tile will be pretty damn close to the well (where water sits) of the tub. I think it would look really awkward.

it is this tub
aaa19179.jpg

http://www.us.kohler.com/onlinecatalog/detail.jsp?item=408302&section=2&category=10

You can kinda see how small that flange(?) is.